Digital Citizenship Activity

I know about online privacy but also know that there are programs and hackers out there that can and will retrieve any information they want, regardless of your privacy settings. I don’t have any personal experience with cyber-bullying but know that my younger brother has experienced it whilst he was in Year 11 at school. I do like to regularly google myself so I can see whats out there. I have recently started to be wary of my online activity in Facebook, including links I share and images I post.

I got 2/4 for the first quiz. I genuinely thought that the bully would tend to have low self esteem. That’s what I was always told or made to believe. That they do it to cover up their own insecurities. I also thought that online bullying would outweigh offline bullying these days. I guess I was incorrect!

I got most correct for the second quiz (it froze on me towards the end).  I thought that giving your first name would be okay for a website, I wouldn’t give the last name, school details etc. But I was wrong. I also said to delete the bullying email. They said to keep it to show a parent for evidence. I guess that makes sense.

I am 31 years old so it shows that children do think quite simply about things and the responses that were modelled in the quizzes are exactly how kids might think. I really liked the second quiz, I think I will send it to my mentor teacher as I know she might like to use it for her class as they start to use ICTs more frequently.

Jasmin

Leave a comment