Unit Planning Ideas and Backwards Design

I am posting this in retrospect as I have gathered my hand written notes and collated them into a blog post to officially document my ideas.

The first thing I was thinking of before I even started to use the backward design model was how was I going to transform learning with ICTs? I always like to at least think of learning experience ideas to help me choose content descriptors which is the first step. I really wanted students to develop something using ICTs not just use them. I find it easy to think of ideas and tools to use but not connect or integrate them into a learning experience that is relevant.

My Somewhere:

Year 5 English class, lower to middle class SES state school, some indigenous and EAL/D enrolment, some learning difficulties but managed within classroom without EAP.

Desired Results (from the Australian Curriculum, ACARA, 2016):

Constructing Knowledge objectives

·      Understand how texts vary in purpose, structure and topic as well as the degree of formality (ACELA1504)

·      Understand that the starting point of a sentence gives prominence to the message in the text and allows for prediction of how the text will unfold (ACELA1505)

Transforming Knowledge objectives

·      Plan, rehearse and deliver presentations for defined audiences and purposes incorporating accurate and sequenced content and multimodal elements (ACELY1700)

·      Plan, draft and publish imaginative, informative and persuasive print and multimodal texts, choosing text structures, language features, images and sound appropriate to purpose and audience (ACELY1704)

Acceptable Evidence:

I am still working on the wording for the marking rubric for these. But students should be able to apply their knowledge of text structures, format, purpose, language features, information etc into a procedural document on how to write an informative text. They will produce a multimodal text and present it to the class.

I love that other students like Summer have started to think about learning theories to help the development of their unit plans. I think it’s important to assess why you are doing things the way you are both before and during the planning. It makes the planning easier when you have a purpose.

I could probably say my main points that I would be focusing on for my justification involve:

  • My choice of task for the age/developmental stage
  • Importance of ICTs as a General Capability and in respect to the Melbourne Declaration (MCEETYA)
  • How I used the R.A.T framework to assess my learning experiences
  • Why I used Explicit Teaching techniques
  • Why I used constructivist learning to guide ICT usage
  • Why the assessment task successfully uses ICT to transform learning outcomes

I was trawling through Australian Curriculum Lessons looking for ideas for the content descriptors I had chosen but couldn’t find much there or anywhere else that excited me so I have decided to stick to my original ideas.

Jasmin


Leave a comment